Coalition For Active Living

Home | Contact Us | FranÇais

Pan-Canadian Physical Activity Strategy

The Pan-Canadian Physical Activity Strategy (PCPAS) is a bold plan developed by CAL detailing the priorities and directions that must be undertaken at all levels to promote increased physical activity among Canadians.

PCPAS Vision, Goal and Principles     Download Full Strategy

Components of the PCPAS

'Imagine' brochure
This brochure was distributed to all Members of Parliament, as well as selected provincial/territorial members, in January 2005.

Background

Physical Activity: A Key Health Determinant

Physical activity (as a personal health practice) is a key health determinant. All of the other determinants of health (such as education, income, gender and environment) influence participation in physical activity. Conversely, an active or sedentary lifestyle can positively or negatively influence the other determinants.

Ultimately, most Canadians make a personal choice about whether they will be active and about the kinds of physical activity in which they will participate. But these choices do not exist in a vacuum. Many Canadians face barriers and inequities that make it more difficult to be regularly active.

The population-health approach suggests that educating people about physical activity is not enough. Individual behaviour changes are important, but need to be balanced with strategies for environmental change. Environmental and policy interventions that address all of the interacting determinants of health and healthful behaviour are required.

Sitemap

Coalition pour la vie active

Accueil | Nous Joindre | English

Stratégie pancanadienne sur l’activité physique

La Stratégie pancanadienne sur l’activité physique (SPAP) est un audacieux plan d’action élaboré par la CVA, dans lequel elle identifie les mesures prioritaires et les orientations à prendre, à tous les niveaux, pour promouvoir l’activité physique auprès de la population canadienne.

Vision, objectif et principes de la SPAP     Téléchargez la stratégie d'ébauche

Les fondements de la SPAP

La brochure "Imaginez"
En janvier 2005, la CVA a envoyé ce dépliant à tous les députés fédéraux, ainsi qu’à des élus provinciaux et territoriaux ciblés.

Le contexte

L'activité physique : un déterminant clé de la santé

L'activité physique (en tant que saine habitude de vie) est l'un des déterminants clés de la santé. La pratique d'une activité physique est influencée par l'ensemble des autres déterminants de la santé (scolarité, revenu, sexe, milieu, etc.). Réciproquement, un mode de vie actif ou sédentaire a une influence positive ou négative sur les autres déterminants.

La décision de mener une vie active n'est donc pas libre de toute entrave. De nombreuses personnes font face à des obstacles et à des inégalités qui peuvent nuire à la pratique régulière d'une activité physique. L'environnement social et physique doit donc favoriser un mode de vie actif.

D'un point de vue de santé publique, la seule promotion de l'activité physique ne suffit pas. Les stratégies visant à modifier les comportements individuels, bien qu'importantes, doivent s'accompagner de modifications du milieu. C'est pourquoi il est essentiel de mener des interventions sur le plan des politiques et du milieu qui tiennent compte de l'ensemble des déterminants de la santé et d'un mode de vie sain.

Sitemap