Coalition For Active Living

Home | Contact Us | FranÇais

Pan-Canadian Physical Activity Strategy

The Strategy

The Pan-Canadian Physical Activity Strategy is not a one-off approach to getting Canada active. It is about creating sustainable long-term change. This requires a significant investment in comprehensive, sustained, and effective action. The Strategy identifies strategic priorities that are essential for long-term success and builds a framework for action in the short-to-mid term. Periodic review of the impact of collective actions is a necessary component in order to refine and guide future action.

Strategic Priorities

Governments, agencies, and citizens are working to make a difference. Their actions must form a visible and cohesive movement. Working together, they will shape an active Canada built on supportive, barrier-free communities. A strong foundation must be built through the development and renewal of community assets, which meet the needs of all Canadians, and look to our future, by developing healthy, active children.

Build the Movement

A value-added brand is required to mesh the actions of national, provincial and local action into a cohesive whole.

Create Physical-Activity Friendly Communities

Physical activity must be re-engineered into daily life by ensuring that communities where Canadians live, learn, commute, work, and play are barrier-free. Three approaches will build a strong foundation:

Strategic Directions

Collaborative intersectoral action based on five approaches will enhance population health and improve the quality of life of all Canadians by reducing physical inactivity. Common solutions will advance goals in other sectors: reducing emissions from automobiles; contributing to sustainable growth in communities; and enhancing the social fabric of the nation. Actions focus on: policy and legislation; coordination across sectors; integration with other strategies such as chronic disease prevention, environment, sport,; training and development; leadership; capacity in all sectors; and delivery of programs and services.

The membership of the Coalition for Active Living has identified five components to guide efforts nationwide. Actions within each of these five component areas are required to achieve the strategic priorities.

Sitemap

Coalition pour la vie active

Accueil | Nous Joindre | English

Stratégie sur l'activité physique

Creer des milieux propices a l'activite physique

La Stratégie pancanadienne sur l'activité physique ne représente pas une action isolée. Elle vise à amorcer un changement durable, qui exigera un investissement massif dans des mesures globales, soutenues et efficaces. Tout en proposant un cadre d'action à court et à moyen terme, cette stratégie cible des secteurs prioritaires essentiels à l'obtention de résultats à long terme. Il sera donc important d'évaluer régulièrement les retombées des actions collectives afin de raffiner et d'orienter toute action future.

Priorités stratégiques

Gouvernements, organismes et citoyens tentent de faire bouger les choses. Leur action doit cependant s'inscrire dans un mouvement visible et cohérent. Ensemble, ils parviendront à créer un pays actif, fort de localités stimulantes et sans obstacles. Pour cela, il faut rénover les installations locales et en construire de nouvelles, de façon qu'elles répondent aux besoins de l'ensemble de la population. Il faut aussi préparer l'avenir, en favorisant l'épanouissement d'enfants sains et actifs.

Créer un mouvement

Pour intégrer les multiples mesures nationales, provinciales et locales en un tout cohérent, il faut se doter d'une image unique.

Créer des milieux propices à l'activité physique

L'activité physique doit réintégrer notre quotidien. Pour cela, il faut que le milieu de vie, d'apprentissage, de travail, de déplacements et de loisirs ne comporte aucun obstacle à cette intégration. Notre action se fondera sur trois principes:

Orientations stratégiques

En exerçant une action multisectorielle concertée, fondée sur cinq composantes, nous améliorerons l'état de santé et la qualité de vie de la population en réduisant l'inactivité physique. En agissant de concert, nous contribuerons aussi à faire avancer des enjeux d'autres secteurs: la réduction des émissions de gaz des voitures; la croissance soutenue des localités; l'amélioration du tissu social. Notre action vise: les politiques et les lois; la concertation intersectorielle; l'intégration de stratégies complémentaires, notamment la prévention des maladies chroniques, l'environnement et le sport; la formation et le développement; le leadership; l'amélioration du potentiel de tous les secteurs; et l'offre de programmes et de services.

Les membres de la Coalition pour la vie active ont identifié cinq secteurs prioritaires destinés à orienter l'action nationale. Les mesures découlant de chacune de ces orientations devront contribuer à réaliser nos priorités stratégiques.

Sitemap