Coalition For Active Living

Home | Contact Us | FranÇais

Board Members

Elected Directors

Nancy Dubois and Christa Costas-Bradstreet - Co-Chairs  
Nancy owns DU B FIT Consulting, which is based out of a small village in rural, southwestern Ontario, through which she works with community coalitions and organizations across Canada, but most often in Ontario, as a facilitator, trainer, speaker, and project manager. She has been under contract to The Health Communication Unit at the Centre for Health Promotion, University of Toronto for many years and does a great deal of work with the Public Health Agency of Canada in the development of a national system for "best practices" in the prevention of chronic disease. She is a member of the Steering Committee of the Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance of Canada, for whom she also chairs the Evaluation Committee, a Board Member with CFLRI, a member of the International Association of Facilitators, and teaches in the Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Sciences at York University.  

Christa Costas-Bradstreet is a Physical Activity Specialist with the City of Hamilton Public Health Services.  Prior to joining Public Health, Christa spent 10 years with ParticipACTION. Christa operates her own consulting company and co-teaches the Physical Activity and Health Promotion course at York University in the Kinesiology and Health Sciences program. Christa has a BA in Honours Physical Education, a Certificate in Sport Administration, and a Certificate in Fitness Assessment and Exercise Counselling from York University, and is a Registered Nurse.  Christa is currently taking a Leave of Absence from Public Health and is pursuing her Master of Arts in Applied Health Sciences, Physical and Health Education, at Brock University.

Mike Arthur 
Michael is the Director of Community Development for the Nova Scotia Sport and Recreation Commission and represents the Interprovincial Sport and Recreation Council on CAL. His focus in Nova Scotia is on coordinating a three year funded strategy called Active Kids/Healthy Kids. He served on the Advisory Committee which developed the new Health Canada - Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology (CSEP) guide to healthy physical activity for children and youth. Mike represents Atlantic Canada on the National Active School Communities Workgroup.

Patricia Marturano 
Patricia is a Project Coordinator at the College of Family Physicians of Canada. For seven years she has been involved in a Physical Activity and Health Strategy and a Type 2 Diabetes Strategy coordinating the development and implementation of educational and promotional strategies for family physicians on physical activity counseling and on lifestyle intervention in the prevention and management of type 2 diabetes.  She currently manages the Self Learning program, an educational program that allows physicians to evaluate themselves on how well they are able to keep in touch with current issues in medical literature.

Johanne Lacombe
Johanne is currently the Executive Director of Go for Green, a national non-profit organization that promotes environmentally responsible outdoor physical activity. Prior to joining Go for Green, Johanne was Manager of Communications at the French Catholic School Board in Ottawa.  Previously, she was Executive Director of Alliance TechPoint Inc, and Executive Director of the Outaouais/Ottawa Chamber of Commerce.  She has had in her career, experience with the private sector as Vice-President of Operations for a printing company and experience within the Government at the municipal and provincial levels.

Johanne’s academic credits include an Executive Masters in Business Administration, a Bachelor of Communications and a Bachelor of Sociology, all from the University of Ottawa. 

Don LeClair 
Don LeClair is the executive director of PEI Active Living Alliance. A major initiative of this Alliance is a four year campaign which is designed to increase the level of physical activity in communities, workplaces and educational settings from pre-school to post secondary.  Don has co-authored both a Sport Strategy and a Physical Activity Strategy for the Province of Prince Edward Island. Don was previously employed as the Director of Culture, Heritage ,Recreation and Sport for Prince Edward Island. Nationally; Don served as the vice chair of the Interprovincial Sport and Recreation Council, and was the provincial/territorial co-chair of the federal-prov./terr. recreation and fitness committee for several terms. While employed by Health Canada, he was the federal liaison to CAL and was one of the writers of the concept paper which lead to the formation of the Coalition.  

Theresa Harvey-Pruden 
Theresa Harvey Pruden has worked in the public sector for more than 25 years.  She has worked in the social services sector, was a founding member of Legal Aid Manitoba and has done extensive work with the province's community colleges.  As the Director of Staffing in Manitoba’s Civil Service Commission, her responsibilities included the government's Affirmative Action program, pay equity, career and executive development for women.   

Throughout her career she has been a champion of gender equity and in 1991 joined the Manitoba Women's Directorate as Assistant Deputy Minister and department head. As ADM, she made working towards the elimination of violence against women, women's achievement of economic self-sufficiency and women’s health her priorities.  She then became involved with CAAWS (Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and Physical Activity), served on the Board of Directors for a number of years, and became its Chair in 2004.

In 2004, she joined the newly established ministry of Healthy Living as its Coordinator. In addition to her work with CAAWS she is also a member of the Board of Directors and Manitoba’s representative of Go for Green.

Ex-Officio

Stephen Grundy 
Steve has been an active member of the Coalition for Active Living for many years and, in September 2003, joined CAL as Chief Operations Officer. In this role, Steve supports CAL’s Board of Directors, Advisors, Caucus members and Action Teams as they speak out for physical activity in Canada. As the former Executive Director of Go for Green and currently the head of Vertigo Project Management, Steve brings to the Coalition a wealth of knowledge about our community and the skills to advance our work.

Sitemap

Coalition pour la vie active

Accueil | Nous Joindre | English

Membres du conseil

NancyDubois and Christa Costas-Bradstreet - Co-présidentes
Nancy Dubois dirige sa propre agence-conseil, DU B FIT, depuis un petit village en milieu rural du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Elle propose des services d’animation, de formation, de conférence et de direction de projet à des coalitions et organismes communautaires surtout ontariens, mais également d’ailleurs au pays. Mme Dubois travaille depuis plusieurs années à titre contractuel pour « The Health Communication Unit du Centre for Health Promotion » de l’Université de Toronto, en plus de collaborer étroitement avec l’Agence de santé publique du Canada à l’élaboration d’un système national de « meilleures pratiques » dans la prévention des maladies chroniques. Elle est membre du comité directeur de l’Alliance pour la prévention des maladies chroniques au Canada pour laquelle elle dirige le comité d’évaluation. Elle est également membre du conseil de l’Institut canadien de la recherche sur la condition physique et le mode de vie et de l’ «International Association of Facilitators », en plus d’enseigner à la faculté de kinésiologie et des sciences de la santé de l’Université York. 

Christa Costas-Bradstreet est une spécialiste de l’activité physique au sein du département de la santé publique d’Hamilton. Christa a de plus travaillée durant dix années à ParticipACTION. Elle opère maintenant sa propre agence-conseil et co-enseigne un cours de promotion de l’activité physique et de la santé (Physical Activity and Health Promotion) au département de kinésiologie et de sciences de la santé de l’Université York. Christa détient un baccalauréat spécialisé en Éducation physique, un certificat en Administration du sport et un certificat en Évaluation physique et en conseils (Fitness Assessment and Exercise Counselling) de l’Université York. Elle est également infirmière agréée. Cette année, Christa se consacre à sa Maîtrise en Sciences de la santé (Master of Arts in Applied Health Sciences, Physical and Health Education), de l’Université Brock.

Mike Arthur
Michael est directeur du développement communautaire de la Commission des sports et des loisirs de la Nouvelle-Écosse et représente le Conseil interprovincial du sport et des loisirs au sein de la Coalition. Il travaille présentement à la coordination du programme triennal « Active Kids/Healthy Kids ». Il a siégé au comité consultatif qui a élaboré le nouveau Guide d'activité physique pour les enfants et les jeunes de Santé Canada et de la Société canadienne de physiologie de l'exercice. Michael représente les provinces de l'Atlantique au sein du « National Active School Communities Workgroup ».

Patricia Marturano
Patricia occupe les fonctions de coordonnatrice de projet au Collège des médecins de famille du Canada. Depuis sept ans, elle collabore à des programmes sur l'activité physique et la santé et sur le diabète de type 2, coordonnant l'élaboration et la mise en ouvre de stratégies éducatives et promotionnelles a l'intention des médecins de famille. Ces programmes, qui visent la prévention et le suivi du diabète de type 2, se fondent sur une stratégie d'intervention destinée à favoriser l'activité physique et le mode de vie sain. Patricia est aussi la gestionnaire de « the Self Learning program », un programme éducatif qui permet aux médecins de s’évaluer et ainsi déterminer si ils sont à jour avec les nouveauté traitées dans la littérature médicale.

Johanne Lacombe
Johanne est la directrice générale de Vert l’action, un organisme national à but non lucratif qui fait la promotion de l’activité physique en plein air tout en respectant l’environnement. Avant de joindre Vert l’action, Johanne était gestionnaire des communications au Conseil des écoles catholiques de langue française du Centre-Est (CECLFCE) à Ottawa. Elle a aussi déjà occupé le poste de directrice générale de divers organismes : Alliance TechPoint Inc et le Regroupement des gens d'affaires de l'Outaouais/Ottawa. Elle a de plus accumulée de l’expérience dans le secteur privé en tant que vice-présidente des opérations pour une compagnie d’imprimerie et d’image corporative ainsi qu’au sein du gouvernement aux niveaux municipal et provincial. Johanne détient une Maîtrise en administration pour cadres, un baccalauréat en communications et un autre en sociologie, tous de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Don LeClair 
Don LeClair est le directeur exécutif de l’alliance sur la vie active de l’Ile-du-Prince-Édouard. Une des plus importantes initiatives de l’Alliance est la mise sur pied d’une campagne d’une durée de 4 ans pour augmenter le niveau d’activité physique dans les communautés, les milieux de travail et les milieux scolaires, de la pré-maternelle aux études post-secondaires. Don est le co-auteur de la Stratégie sur le sport ainsi que la Stratégie sur l’activité physique pour la province de l’Ile-du-Prince-Édouard. Don était auparavant Directeur du département de la culture, de l’héritage, des loisirs et du sport de l’IPÉ. Au niveau national, Don fut l’un des dirigents du Conseil Interprovincial sur les sports et les loisirs. Il a aussi été le co-président au niveau prov./terr. du comité fédéral-prov./terr. sur les loisirs et l’activité physique pendant plusieurs années. Employé de Santé Canada, Don a été la personne responsable au niveau fédéral des relations avec la Coalition pour la vie active (CVA) et un des auteurs du document-concept préparatoire à la formation de la Coalition.  

Theresa Harvey Pruden 
Theresa Harvey Pruden a travaillé plus de 25 ans dans le secteur public. Elle a aussi évoluée dans le secteur des services sociaux, elle fut un membre fondateur du « Legal Aid Manitoba » et a aussi œuvrée dans le milieu des collèges de sa province. En tant que directrice de l’embauche auprès de la commission des services civiles du Manitoba, ses responsabilités incluaient : l’ « Affirmative Action program » du gouvernement, l’équité salariale, l’aide au développement de la carrière pour les femmes.    

Dans son parcours professionnel, Theresa se démarque comme étant une leader dans au niveau de l’égalité entre home et femme et en 1991, elle s’est jointe au « Manitoba Women's Directorate » comme assistante au sous-ministre et au département chef. Dans ce poste, les priorités de Theresa furent entre autre d’éliminer la violence contre les femmes, d’aider les femmes à atteindre l’autonomie financière ainsi que la santé chez les femmes. Par la suite, elle s’est impliquée au sein de l'Association canadienne pour l'avancement des femmes, du sport et de l'activité physique (ACAFS) et a fait partie du Conseil d’administration pendant plusieurs années, avant de devenir présidente de ce Conseil en 2004. 

En 2004, Theresa s’est jointe au récent ministère “La Vie saine Manitoba” comme coordon-natrice. En plus de son implication avec l’ACAFS, elle est aussi la représentante du Manitoba sur le conseil d’administration de Vert l’action.  

Ex-Officio

Stephen Grundy
Depuis plusieurs années, Steve est un membre actif de la CVA. En septembre 2003, il s'est joint à la Coalition en tant que Directeur général des opérations. Steve a pour rôle le soutien du Conseil exécutif de la Coalition, de ses conseillers, des membres de son comité électoral et de ses groupes d'action qui ont pour mission de promouvoir l'activité physique au Canada. Comme ancien Directeur exécutif de Vert l'action et, maintenant, président de Vertigo Project Management, Steve nous offre ses vastes connaissances de notre communauté ainsi que ses habiletés spécialisées pour avancer notre travail.

Sitemap